# PROFESSIONAL TEACHING STANDARDS BOARD MARCH 5, 2007 CASPER, WY

#### CALL TO ORDER

Present: Patricia McClurg, Craig Sorensen, Robin Dexter, David Treick, Cindy Mossey, Brent Young, Carol Hdvidston, Michael Moore, Anne Marie Anderson, Craig Beck, Joyce Tyrrell, Bill Lee, Eric Stemle, Susan Griffith, and DeAnn Eisenhart. Department of Education: Jim McBride and Carol Illian. Wyoming Education Association: Kathy Scheurman. Attorney General's Office: Ken Nelson. Staff: Connie Pollard and Betsie Martinez. Absent: JoAnne McFarland, Christine Frude, and Jack Patrick.

### **ADOPTION OF AGENDA**

Moved by Craig Beck and seconded by Pat McClurg to receive the agenda as presented. Motion carried.

### **APPROVAL OF MINUTES**

Moved by Craig Beck and seconded by Pat McClurg to approve the minutes of the February 5-6, 2007 meeting. Motion carried.

#### **BUDGET REPORT**

Moved by Craig Beck and seconded by Eric Stemle to receive the budget report as presented by Connie Pollard. Motion carried.

#### **DIRECTOR'S REPORT**

Connie Pollard reported about the proposed Rules and Regulations regarding School Counselors, Testing Policy, Transitional Coaching, Exception Authorization, and Endorsement; she reported that a new licensing technician was hired mid-February. Connie plans to request two additional staff in 2008; she noted that she and Carol Illian will present a session on HQT at NCA Conference. The short-term projects PTSB is working on are: Implement policy changes; staffing; applications; fee structure; set cut scores; select next set of ETS tests for review; and develop a time line for working with Teachers-teachers.com to develop a new website. Long-term projects include: Staffing; update Administrator Handbook; update Operational Procedures Handbook; review of standards; update Program Approval handbook; revision of Rules and Regulations, Chapters 1-18; Revision of WY Statute regarding authority to revoke, suspend, and discipline; and the Website.

Moved by Craig Beck and seconded by Pat McClurg to receive the Director's Report as presented by Connie Pollard. Motion carried.

### STATE OF THE ORGANIZATION

Bill Lee presented an overview of the history of the Professional Teaching Standards Board, its responsibilities, and goals.

### KEN NELSON

Ken Nelson presented about the legal responsibilities of the Board including revocations, disciplinary actions, and hearings.

## **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

The Board was in Executive Session from 2:15 TO 2:25 pm.

## **REVISION OF RULES AND REGULATIONS**

### POLICY REGARDING SCHOOL COUNSELORS

Moved by Anne Marie Anderson and seconded by Susan Griffith to approve the rule change to issue endorsements for school counselors without the prerequisite of holding a teaching certificate, and proceed with the final filing with the Secretary of State's office. Motion carried.

## **INVESTIGATIVE COMMITTEE**

Moved by Eric Stemle and seconded by Robin Dexter to accept the Investigative Committee's recommendation to dismiss Case B-1106. Motion carried.

#### **WAIVERS**

Moved by David Treick and seconded by Robin Dexter to grant **Don Stryker** a waiver of his institutional recommendation. Motion carried.

# **EXCEPTIONS**

Moved by Robin Dexter and seconded by Craig Beck to approve exceptions for **Amanda Harding**, **Terri Coffey**, and **Sheila Dunn**. Motion carried.

Moved by David Treick and seconded by Eric Stemle to grant **Wes Sibert** an exception for the 2006-07 school year. Motion carried.

## PROFESSIONAL GROWTH CREDIT

Moved by Robin Dexter and seconded by Susan Griffith to grant **Donna Jenne** 3.65 professional growth credits. Motion carried.

Moved by Joyce Tyrrell and seconded by Pat McClurg amend the motion and grant **Donna Jenne** 3 professional growth credits. Motion carried.

## **DISTRICT DEVELOPMENT PLANS**

Moved by Michael Moore and seconded by Anne Marie Anderson to approve the 2005-06 and 2006-07 Professional Development Plan from Fremont #38. Motion carried.

# PROFESSIONAL STAFF DEVELOPMENT CREDITS

Moved by DeAnn Eisenhart and seconded by Eric Stemle to approve that participants in Natrona CSD's <u>Cohort Study Group</u>: Instructional Facilitator Facets of Facilitating training earn 1, 2, or 3 PTSB Professional Development credits as documented by each individual's contact time. Motion carried.

# PROGRAM APPROVAL

Moved by Anne Marie Anderson and seconded by Eric Stemle to accept University of Wyoming's request to review a new program for secondary science biology certification, and direct PTSB staff to conduct a team review of the program documents. Motion carried.

## **ELECTION OF NEW OFFICERS**

Moved by Pat McClurg and seconded by Mike Moore to nominate DeAnn Eisenhart for Chairperson

of the PTSB. No other nominations were made, and DeAnn Eisenhart was elected to serve as Chairperson for two years. Motion carried.

Moved by Susan Griffith and seconded by Craig Beck to nominate Anne Marie Anderson for Vice-Chairperson. No other nominations were made, and Anne Marie Anderson was elected to serve as Vice-Chairperson for two years. Motion carried.

Moved by DeAnn Eisenhart and seconded by Robin Dexter to nominate Brent Young for Secretary -Treasurer. No other nominations were made, and Brent Young was elected to serve as Secretary-Treasurer for two years. Motion carried.

### **COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP**

The following Board members were named to serve on the Applications Review and Investigations Committee: DeAnn Eisenhart, David Treick and Eric Stemle.

The Board discussed not forming other committees at this time and wait for subsequent meetings to determine the expertise of the various new members before making that decision.

### NEXT MEETING

The Board suggested meeting monthly on the 3<sup>rd</sup> Monday, alternating face-to-face and teleconference meetings. The next meeting of the Professional Teaching Standards Board was scheduled as a teleconference for April 16, 2007 at 3:30. The next face-to-face meeting was set for May 21, 2007 in Casper at 9:00 am. The Summer retreat meeting will be determined then.

#### **RETIRING BOARD MEMBERS**

Connie Pollard presented plaques to retiring Board members, Bill Lee, Craig Beck, and Joyce Tyrrell. The Board responded by acclamation. Plaques for Jack Patrick and Chris Frude will be mailed to them.

## **ADJOURN**

The meeting was adjourned at 4:00 pm.